Get to know the girl behind LifeofLG

What is your full name and how old are you?

Hi everyone, I’m Lindsey Garrett and I’m 29 years young *wink wink*

LgPicWhere do you live and how long have you been there?

I live in Calgary, Canada which is close to the west coast (for reference) and I’ve been here for about 11/12 years now.

How long have you been blogging for?

Hmmmm good question, I think I’ve seriously been blogging and collaborating for about 1.5 years now maybe 2 years at most. It’s hard to pinpoint the exact time it happened… it did sort of just came in an organic way. I will share the longer version at some point.

What’s the hardest thing about blogging?

I think the hardest thing is standing out, there are so many massive bloggers out there of all kinds and it’s easy to get overshadowed. A lot of them blog full time so they post several times a day and are on their stories all day whereas…. The smaller bloggers like myself literally do not have enough hours in the day to post that much content. I just try to take it one day at a time and stay true to myself.

Are you usually early or late?

I would love to say I’m early but the hard reality is that I’m normally late. Just a quick 5 mins… I honestly hate it though. I work SO HARD to try and be on time. If it’s something extremely important I will be early or right on time.

Do you use sarcasm a lot?

Wellll… I used to but people are so damn sensitive these days that it makes it hard. Everyone is offended by everything and it makes it hard to be silly (you feel me)?! I do like to joke around when I can.

What’s the one product you can’t live without?

Oh gosh golly… how can I answer this? I think it would have to be the Active Hydrating Serum from Rodan+Fields. That stuff leaves my skin feeling as soft as a babies butt!

What is your eye color?

My eyes tend to change color, they are blue for the most part but they can look kind of light blue/grey sometimes and other times they even look a little bit green!

What’s the most annoying question that people ask you?

Ummmm I wouldn’t say it’s extremely annoying, it’s kind of a bit flattering but I get asked a lot (almost every day) if my eyebrows are microbladed. The answer is that they are NOT! I grow eyebrow hair at a very rapid rate and I get them waxed and tinted every 7-10 days like clockwork! It’s a blessing because they are full but a curse because they are a lot of work for me and my brow girl to maintain.

What’s the furthest you’ve ever been from home?

Sadly not too far, I think the Dominican Republic is the furthest for a vacay. I really need to start traveling more, it’s on my list of things to do! I’ve only ever been to Canada, the United States, Mexico, and DR. I’m hoping to do a big trip in 2019… fingers crossed.

Do you have any special talents?

I don’t want to brag but I really do… my best friend Amanda and I can do an outstanding impersonation of CHER’S “do you believe in life after love” and it is the bomb dot com.

Where were you born and raised?

I was born on Vancouver Island in a small town called Campbell River, BC. It’s on the west coast and my dad was working there at the time. Shortly after that, we moved back to Kaslo, BC where we stayed and where I grew up. Kaslo is a tiny town with about 900 people in it located close to US border in southern BC. I love Kaslo so much and all my family is still there so I go back and visit a few times a year. It’s also gorgeous if you ever get the chance to go, you should!! It’s on a huge lake that’s glacier fed and it’s surrounded by massive mountains.

IMG_0013

kaslo
What’s your zodiac sign? Do you believe in it?

I’m an Aries and no I don’t really believe in zodiac signs. I’m not very spiritual however I am stubborn so maybe it’s true?? haha

Do you have any siblings?

I do! I have a sister who is 3 years older than me. We’re best friends and I love her to bits. We’re both stubborn and type A’s so we can argue at times but we always get over it quickly. Growing up I always wanted to be just like her, I would borrow (steal) all her clothes and makeup. I couldn’t help it, I just followed her around like a puppy dog, so she started to lock her door and run away from me haha. She’s married now, they have 4 little boys (who I’m obsessed with) and they only live about 45 mins away from me which has been the biggest blessing in my life. I’ve gotten to watch all my nephews grow up, they’re ages 3-10 now and I so wish they would just stay little forever ughhhh.

Who was your first best friend?

So my first best friend that I met first was Amanda McDonald (Turner) and then shortly after came Amanda Dyck. So if you’re wondering if it was hard having two best friends named Amanda, the answer is YES! The three of us were inseparable and we’re actually all still best friends which is almost 30 years of friendship… we’re actually talking about doing a big girls trip for our 30th Birthdays in 2019!!! Man that would be WILDDDD. There were 6 of us girls that grew up together and we were all very close!

IMG_0024
Grad2007 205.jpg

How tall are you?

I’m 5’6…. I used to tell everyone I was 5’7 but as Maury would say “that was determined to be a lie” I just thought that being tall was cool?

What is the least favorite thing about yourself?

The least favorite thing about myself??? Oh man… I think maybe speaking my mind too often when I should just say nothing at all. It’s something I’ve gotten better at over the years but I still continue to work on it. People don’t tend to like “honest” opinions.

What Sports do you play/Have you played?

Currently I’m not really playing too many sports, I work out about 4 days a week, cardio and weight training. In the summer I golf a little bit and in the winter I snowboard. Growing up I played Hockey though… not “ringette” it was actual Hockey! I also played on the school teams for Soccer, Volleyball, and Basketball.

Hockey

Four things that make you happy?

1. Coffee/Starbucks – YUMMMM
2. LAUGHING – If you can make me laugh, I love you already!
3. Romanceeeee (flowers, dinner dates, weekend getaways)
4. Country Music and Country Concerts

If money were no object what would you get for your next birthday?

OKKKURRRRR (Kardashian reference haha) So this will be my biggest, most important Birthday yet, the big THREE ZERO …30… yikes! I’m turning 30 on April 19th, 2019. Seems so weird to say but I do plan on having all the fun.

If money were no object I would definitely be taking a private jet with some of my best friends and be celebrating on a yacht somewhere super-hot (maybe the south of France) or anywhere that has beautiful beaches and lots of water/sun! That would be my version of living my best life for my entire Birthday week. I’d also probably throw in a nice shopping spree, because.. why not!!

What is your career?

I’ve been an Executive Assistant for the majority of my 20’s. I started off in Oil & Gas and now I’ve been in Commercial Real Estate for the past 3 years. I LOVE the company I work for and I couldn’t imagine working anywhere else. It’s a small family owned business and they’re really great to work for. We have offices in Calgary and in Dallas. I’m also a blogger, as you can see, and I’m a Rodan+Fields consultant.

Are your close with your parents?

So my Dad passed away when I was younger which is still very hard for me, I miss him dearly. I am however very close to my Mom and my Step-Dad, they live about 10-15 mins away from me and I talk to my Mom on the phone every day. We also like to get together for family dinners, even family vacations sometimes.

Do you talk to strangers or do you avoid it?

I’m pretty friendly, I like to spark up conversations almost everywhere I go… I really love meeting new people and new friends on vacations!

Are you a relationship girl or do you prefer to be single?

I’m most definitely a relationship girl. I’ve pretty much always had boyfriends, my longest relationship is 5 years. I was single for maybe for about 2 years (ages 25&26) and those were great years of growth. Much needed looking back on it!

How many kids do you have or do you want to have?

Oh lordy! No kiddos for me yet but I would love to have 2-3 kids. I’m very close with my nephews (and as I mentioned I have 4 of them)! I was also a nanny so I LOVE kids and I’m excited about that next chapter after I’m married etc.

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?

I think I would live in Canada during the summer months and maybe LA or Mexico during the cold Canadian winters! I definitely could not live in Canada all year round the rest of my life… the -35 weather is awfulllll.

Advertisements

Posted by

Beauty, Lifestyle, & Travel Blogger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s